Home » News & Events » Raabe Prize » Prize Winners


Raabe Prize Winners


2017 - Tenth Biennial ALCM Raabe Prize

First Prize - Erik Meyer - Philadelphia, PA
St. John Passion
Soloists, SATB choir, and assembly - published on MusicSpoke.com
Listen to St. John Passion and view a "perusal copy" of the score

Honorable Mention (listed alphabetically)

Ryan Keebaugh - Stephens City, VA
The Suffering Servant
SATB, a cappella
Listen to The Suffering Servant and view a "perusal copy" of the score

Thomas Keesecker - Bel Air, MD
All Shall Be Amen and Alleluia
SATB, piano
Listen and view score on the MorningStar Music website: 50-8204

2015 - Ninth Biennial ALCM Raabe Prize

First Prize - David Ashley White - Houston, TX
Spirit, Moving Over Chaos
Chorus, oboe or C-instrument, percussion, optional handbells, and keyboard, Selah Publishing 405-633
Listen to Spirit, Moving Over Chaos
Preview a copy of Spirit, Moving Over Chaos

Honorable Mention (listed alphabetically)

Alfred Fedak - Albany, NY
You Hold All Souls in Life
SATB a cap, Selah Publishing 415-400

Jonathan Kohrs - Chicago, IL
Divine Service/Holy Communion
Congregation and piano with optional flute, oboe, clarinet, string synthesizer, vibraphone, and bass

2013 - Eighth Biennial ALCM Raabe Prize

First Prize - Jake Runestad - Minneapolis, MN
Nada te Turbe
SSAATTBB a cappela
Listen to Nada Te Turbe

2011 – Seventh Biennial ALCM Raabe Prize

First Prize - Zebulon Highben - Haslett, MI
Love Is the Key
SATB divisi a cappella, MorningStar Music 50-5215
Listen to "Love is the Key"

2009 – Sixth Biennial ALCM Raabe Prize

First Prize - Dan Forrest - Greenville, SC
in paradisum…
SATB divisi, Hinshaw Music HMC2224
Listen to an excerpt from "in paradisum..."

2007 – Fifth Biennial ALCM Raabe Prize

First Prize - David Cherwien - Minneapolis MN
The Souls of the Righteous
SSAATTBB a cappella, Morningstar Music 50-6066
National Lutheran Choir Series
Recorded by the National Lutheran Choir, on their CD Eternity www.nlca.com 

2005 - Fourth Biennial ALCM Raabe Prize

First Prize - John Ferguson - Northfield, MN
Who Is This
SATB divisi and viola, MorningStar Music 50-6509 

Honorable Mention (listed alphabetically)

Kevin Hildebrand - Fort Wayne, IN
Chorale Fantasia on MIT FRIED UND FREUD

Robert Garson Skinnell - La Crescenta, CA
Holy Spirit Mass

Susan Westhorp - Box Hill, Victoria, Australia
St. John Passion

2003 - Third Biennial ALCM Raabe Prize

First Prize - Paul Weber - Hickory, NC
Arise, Shine
SATB divisi, Augsburg Fortress ED004989

Honorable Mention (listed alphabetically)

J. William Greene - Lynchburg, VA
O, How I Love Your Law, O Lord
SATB a cappella, Paraclete Press PPM0207

Peter Mathews - Palatka, FL
Deck Thyself, My Soul, with Gladness
SATB, organ, MorningStar Music 50-6027

Aaron David Miller - Bowling Green, OH
Laudate Dominum

Robert Rathmell - Hillsdale, MI
Prayers to the Father

2001 - Second Biennial ALCM Raabe Prize

First Prize -Richard Proulx - Chicago, IL
We Adore You, O Christ
SATB a cappella, Paraclete Press PPM09836

1999 - First Biennial ALCM Raabe Prize

First Prize - Robert Buckley Farlee - Minneapolis, MN
Solemn Reproaches of the Cross
Soloist, SATB, piano, Augsburg Fortress ED004729