## Jake Runestad Named 2013 Raabe Prize Winner



The Association of Lutheran Church Musicians is pleased to announce that Jake Runestad is the recipient of the **2013 Raabe Prize for Excellence** in Sacred Composition for his choral submission, *Nada Te Turbe*.

Award-winning composer Jake Runestad (b. 1986) is noted for his versatility and wide range of expressive capabilities with music driven by soaring melodies, driving rhythms, and lush textures. Considered "highly imaginative...with big ideas" (Baltimore Sun) and "stirring and uplifting" (Miami Herald), Jake has received commissions and performances from leading ensembles such as Seraphic Fire, the Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra, VocalEssence, the Master Chorale of Tampa Bay, the Dayton Philharmonic Orchestra, the Cincinnati Vocal Arts Ensemble, Cantus (Minnesota), and the Rockford Symphony Orchestra.

Jake Runestad holds a Master's degree in composition from the Peabody Conservatory of the Johns Hopkins University where he studied with Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Kevin Puts. He has also studied extensively with acclaimed composer Libby Larsen. Mr. Runestad's music is published by Boosey & Hawkes and JR Music. Find out more at jakerunestad.com.

## Runestad writes:

Nada Te Turbe has an interesting history. The piece was commissioned by Seraphic Fire, a Grammy-nominated choir based in Miami, FL, and performed in beautiful churches around the Miami area in December of 2012. I was fortunate to attend several of these premiere performances, and the first performance I attended was the same day as the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary in

Connecticut. Given the intense sadness of the day's events, this candlelit, meditative concert was an important place of refuge for those in attendance. After the concert. many of the audience members approached me and mentioned how the piece spoke to them in this time of intense sadness. I was humbled and amazed how a piece of music can provide solace in unexpected ways. This is the true power of music and the reason why I continue to compose.

Nada Te Turbe was performed by the National Lutheran Choir, under the direction of Dr. David Cherwien, during a hymn festival at the 2013 biennial conference of the Association of Lutheran Church Musicians. The hymn festival was held on Monday, July 1 at 7:30 p.m. in the Chapel of the Resurrection at Valparaiso University, Valparaiso, Indiana.



The Raabe Prize for Excellence in Sacred Composition is awarded every two years for a single musical work, published or unpublished and written within the last five years, that reflects a larger history of excellence on the part of the composer. The \$2,000 monetary award is shared equally by the winner and a musical or ecclesiastical organization chosen by the composer. Dr. William and Nancy Raabe of Columbus, Ohio, established this prize to recognize and encourage significant accomplishments in composition contributing to the body of sacred music for the church in the Lutheran heritage. Previous recipients of the Raabe prize include Zeb Highben (2011), Dan Forrest (2009), David Cherwien (2007) John Ferguson (2005), Paul Weber (2003), Richard Proulx (2001) and Robert Buckley Farlee (1999).